Planning Commission

About the Planning Commission


The role of the Planning Commission is to guide the land use, zoning, and planning process in the City. The Commission is charged with planning for the future and is expected to stay up to date on current trends and issues that may affect the City.


The Planning Commission is responsible for formalization of the Master Plan. They review and recommend changes to the Zoning Ordinance  and Zoning Map to the City Council. The Commission also reviews site plans, rezoning requests, special use requests and planned unit developments.


Each Planning Commissioner is expected to represent the opinions of the constituency over their own interests and have a working knowledge of the rules and governing documents.  They are expected to be prepared for and to attend the meetings. Knowledge of planning and zoning is not necessary, and training and ongoing educational opportunities will be provided.


Second Monday of every month; occasional special meetings.

Meetings are held at 6:00 PM in City Hall.


Nine qualified electors of the City of Charlevoix, representing different perspectives and geographic locations of the City.


Mayor, confirmed by City Council


Three years beginning May 1



Staff Liaison/Department

Jonathan Scheel, Director of Planning and Zoning, 231-547-3265

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Notices of Planning Commission public hearings are published as classified legal advertisements in the Charlevoix Courier newspaper prior to the public hearing date in accordance with the applicable state statute.


Please Click here to view the Planning Commission's Bylaws. 


  • Jennifer Muladore,  Chair
    Term expires: April 2024
  • Shelley Boehmer
    Term expires: April 2026
  • Mary Millington
    Term expires: April 2024
  • Toni Felter
    Term expires: April 2026
  • Scott Beatty
    Term expires: April 2025
  • John Kurtz 
    Term expires: April 2025
  • Sherm Chamberlain, Vice Chair
    Term expires: April 2025
  • Janet Coltman
    Term expires: April 2026
  • Maureen Radke
    Term expires: April 2024

Commission Information

Nine members appointed by the Mayor for a term of three years. Responsible for creation of the City Master Plan, recommendations on map and textual revisions to the zoning, zone changes, and various other planning and zoning related functions.