Historic District Commission

About the Historic District Commission


To regulate the construction, addition, alteration, repair, moving, excavation, and demolition of resources in historic districts within the City limits. The purpose of this Commission is to safeguard the heritage of the City of Charlevoix by preserving districts which reflect elements of its history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, or culture. 


The Commission shall have those powers and duties prescribed in the Ordinance known as the "Historic District Governing Ordinance of the City of Charlevoix," currently being Sections 1.325-1.347 of Chapter 1, Title I of the City Code.  The Commission may have such additional powers and duties as the City Council may prescribe by ordinance.

The Commission shall review and act upon only exterior features of a resource and shall not review and act upon interior arrangements unless specifically authorized to do so by the City Council or unless interior work will cause visible change to the exterior of the resource. The Commission shall not disapprove an application due to considerations not prescribed in subsection 399.205 (3) of Public Act 169 of 1970, as amended. The Commission shall file Certificates of Appropriateness, Notices to Proceed, and Denials of applications for permits with the inspector of buildings.


In reviewing plans, the Commission shall follow the U.S. Secretary of Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation and guidelines for rehabilitating historic buildings as set forth in 36 C.F.R. part 67. Design review standards and guidelines that address special design characteristics of historic districts administered by the Commission may be followed if they are equivalent in guidance to the Secretary of Interior’s Standards and guidelines and are established or approved by the State Historic Preservation Office of the Michigan Historical Center.


4th Friday of the month, as needed. The Historic District Commission shall meet at least quarterly or more frequently at the call of the Commission. Meetings are held at 11:00 AM in City Hall.


Each member of the Commission shall reside within the city limits. The Commission shall consist of seven members. A majority of the members shall have a clearly demonstrated interest in or knowledge of historic preservation.


City Council


Members shall be appointed for a term of three years. 



Staff Liaison Department

Lindsey Dotson, DDA/Main Street Executive Director (231) 547-3257

Related Documents

  1. Lindsey Dotson

    Lindsey Dotson, MSARP

    Main Street DDA Director
    Phone: 231-547-3257


  • Vicki Voisin, Chair
    Term expires: June 2022
  • Mary Adams
    Term expires: June 2021
  • John Campbell
    Term expires: June 2020

  • Kay Heise
    Term expires: June 2020
  • David Miles
    Term expires: June 2020
  • Paul Weston
    Term expires: June 2021
  • Carol Kranz
    Term expires: June 2022

Commission Information

The commission was established on May 15, 2006. Seven members are appointed by the Council for three year terms. One member must be an architect, per Ordinance 706 of 2005 and 711 of 2006.